Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Ancestory.com Library Edition (In-Library use only) – provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists.
AutoMate Features content from the original equipment manufacturers including step-by-step repair procedures with supporting images, maintenance schedules, estimated labor times, technical service bulletins, specifications and diagnostic trouble codes so users can accurately diagnose, repair and maintain their vehicle. Millions of high-quality images can be magnified and printed. Images include component location diagrams and comprehensive wiring diagrams. Automate is also optimized for touch screen devices.
A to Z World Travel – A to Z World Travel consists of 202 World City Travel Guides of 52 topics each and 56 World Travel Resources.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Laws – Provides free public access to the current laws of British Columbia.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
British Columbia Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards – (In Library Use Only)
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Newsstream [ProQuest] – Full-text access to over 200 Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Vancouver Sun and many local BC papers. Coverage back to the 1970s and1980s for some newspapers.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
EBSCOHost – Search more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Global Road Warrior – The ultimate guide to the world for travelers.
Imagine Canada – Grant Connect – (In-library use only) Search for grants from Canadian grantmaking foundations, hundreds of corporate community investment programs, as well as government funding programs and American foundations that will fund Canadian charities. (formerly known as the Canadian Directory to Foundations and Corporations).
IndieFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
Library To Go – Download up to 5 items for one to three weeks on your computer or device. Over 20,000 e-books and over 8,600 audiobooks to choose from with new items added regularly.
MasterFile – Full-text articles from over 1,000 journals, covering a range of topics, including business, social sciences, general science, and multiculturalism. Includes back issues of popular magazines such as Consumer Reports, Organic Gardening, Maclean’s, New Yorker.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
OneClickDigital – Create an account and choose from over 4000 audiobooks. Titles for the whole family available when you want them. NEW! 75 e-books added in September 2013! No wait lists!
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Teen Health & Wellness – Support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
Zinio – Create an account for unlimited access to over 300 current magazines to view on your computer or mobile device.